top of page

Steps to the Pitch


I never realized how much I cared about the Coral Reef. I also never realized how endangered the coral reefs are. Once we were assigned this project, I knew that I wanted to choose a topic related to the ocean, but I didn't know what I wanted to do. I started by looking up problems in the ocean. A lot of different answers came up. For example, overfishing,fish migration,ocean acidification. I looked into all of them but Coral Bleaching really excited me.

At the beginning, it was hard to find information. I kept looking, and I found this really good website that had great information. Once I had my information, I started to write the pitch. I didn't know how to start the pitch, so I asked my teacher for help. She suggested to start by showing healthy coral reefs and then showing bleached corals. This was a very good way to start because, not only was it a hook, but it was a way for the audience to understand what the topic was within the first sentence.

The pitch was only 2 minutes, but you still needed to make sure that you had the audience's attention throughout the whole presentation. A good way to do this would be with facts. For example, in my speech, I talked about how 25% of marine life that live in the ocean live in the coral reefs. I think that it is important to have facts and percentages in your pitch so your audience understands how important this issue is. The pitch will only seem important to you audience if you care about the topic.If you are writing the speech and you find that this isn't the topic for you, then you might want to consider changing it. This is because the whole point of the project is to create awareness for your topic. So, when writing the pitch, make sure that you care about the topic.

On the day of the pitches, I was excited and nervous. I was really excited to share with my class about the bleached coral reefs. I was also nervous because I had to present in front of the class. But, it ended up being ok. The only problem was that I found a website that shows the effect of coral bleaching through time and I wanted to show it in my pitch.But it didn't load because of the wi-fi connection was slow. I was able to keep going even though it wasn't loading. The pitch experience was very fun for me. I really like learning about the coral reefs.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page